Who's Running for Ann Arbor District Library Board?

Looking for election results? Check the Washtenaw County Elections website: Click here.

The Ann Arbor District Library is a public library system funded by a perpetual millage and serving Ann Arbor area residents. In addition to the main downtown building at the corner of Fifth Avenue and William, the AADL operates four branches: Malletts Creek, Traverwood, Pittsfield and West.

The library board is responsible for approving the roughly $15 million annual budget, setting policy, and hiring/overseeing the library director. Positions on the seven-member board are elected at large by voters in Ann Arbor and portions of seven townships that are covered by the library’s district – Pittsfield, Scio, Ann Arbor, Lodi, Webster, Salem and Superior. Those are the same boundaries served by the Ann Arbor Public Schools, with the exception of Northfield Township, which is partly within the AAPS district but has its own library system. (The overlap of boundaries is a relic of their past, when the Ann Arbor library was part of the school system.) 

You can watch previous AADL board meetings here.

This year, three seats are open and only three candidates are running: Incumbent Jim Leija, Dharma Akmon and S. Kerene Moore. These are nonpartisan, unpaid positions with four-year terms. Two incumbents – Jan Barney Newman and Ed Surovell – decided not to seek re-election.

Below you'll find links to candidate profiles for this race. You can check out our Voter Basics page for more details about the voting process. (If you need to see a SAMPLE BALLOTclick here.)